Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-06-09 - 1:42 a.m.

Moving day is almost upon us.

Now I know most people hate to move. I have come to loathe it since I have moved 13 times in the last 14 years. But this time is different for me because I'm moving with my Significant Other (SigOt). Not only is it our first place, but we'll fondly look back on this new abode in our old age. That or it will become known as the crime scene.

SigOt is good at packing, but tires easily. I don't blame SigOt much. If I didn't sit at my desk all day and play pong, I would tire easily as well. Okay, that's a lie. When my co-worker goes to lunch, I get my aerobics in. I spin around in my chair without letting my feet touch the floor. One day I hope to beat the record of 6 and a half revolutions set by BP Manly in Accounting. Goals are important.

Back to moving. I finally figured out that you have to adjust the stupid tape gun to make the tape tight on the box. And how many boxes are left? That's right, two. So thirty boxes look like they were packed by the one-arm man on a bender.

I'm using actual movers for the third time. This is the way to move. Three or four guys doing it quickly and effectively instead of me and my half-drunk friends and relatives breaking most of my dishes and losing my deposit on the apartment. Good times.

I had to go back and buy more boxes at Lowes. I love that place, even though I am about as handy as deodorant at a Greenpeace demonstration. And I always have something special ready for the checkout.

SigOt and I roll up to the counter with 12 boxes, packing tape and bubble wrap.

Purchase expediter: Are you moving?

Me: Actually, We're building a clubhouse.

Purchase expediter:

Me: You got me, we're moving. You think twelve cats will fit easily in the Medium box or should I go back and get a Large?

Now SigOt is passed out. Box City is complete. My back is aching a little less due to the late night Martini I downed. The best part is to come: unpacking and organizing. Maybe we can break my record of having everything organized by month eight. "Keep your feet on the ground and reach for the sky."

Shut up, Kasey.

0 comments so far

older shit - newer shit

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!