Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-09-02 - 11:18 p.m.

The first week at the new job is almost over. I never thought I would care so much about heavy construction equipment, but now I get paid to at least think about it for 40+ hours a week.

Not much else going on except SigOt is one of the most uncomfortable pregnant women I've ever known. Which ranks her above three other women, so I guess that says nothing except I am ready for her to be comfortable. And I'm ready to see my baby girl.

My dad and I went on a canoe trip one summer. I was looking at the map and noticed that the trip was traced out. The way the river flowed, we would end up canoeing about fifteen miles but as the crow flies, we would be about five miles away. I mentioned that we could get to the end quicker if we just hiked it.

My dad just chuckled and said, "There's more to the trip than making good time." And that was my father in a nutshell. Not worried so much about the next step but living in the moment.

There's something about longing, desire, journey and accomplishment. But thanks to our super-size drive-thru society, the instant gratification has killed the satisfaction of the accomplishment. I am currently suffering from this myself.

My new job was procured very quickly and I even got to keep my salary level. But somehow the quick fix isn't as reassuring as I thought it would be. I'm certainly glad to be rid of the old company but it's not how I'd imagined it.

So, in remembrance of my dad, I'm stopping to smell the roses tomorrow before work. Actually, I'm getting up early and going to Starbuck's for coffee and a danish. But I'm going in and sitting down and enjoying it like Dad would've done.

And I can even imagine what he would've said if he were there with me. "Five dollars for a cup of coffee!?! What the hell's a half caf, no foam latte?"

Cheers, Dad.

1 comments so far

older shit - newer shit

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!