Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-06-17 - 8:32 a.m.

Well, the move is over.

It was a long but decisive battle. We lost a few men. We irritated old friends. We made new ones. The scars will take time to heal. And I have enough empty boxes to build a life-size replica of the Taj Mahal.

And that brings me to my new favorite topic...houses. I've lived in apartments for the past 11 or 12 years. SigOt has lived in apartments for about 4 or 5. Neither of us would want anything more than to own a house. But with the current job being short-term, we're iffy at best for a house.

When I lived in Connecticut, the decision was easy. Do I have a spare $60k to put down on a two bedroom 100 miles away from my job? Sure, where do I sign? It'll need a new well and I'll need to gut the bottom floor? Be like living outdoors, only dirtier.

But now that I'm back in the great state of Tennessee where the men are men and the sheep are scared, I can afford something that's livable and nearly middle class. Yes, I would love to have a house like one of the Hanson sisters, er, brothers. But that takes planning. And savings. And/or a sugar person (insert mama or daddy depending on your persuasion/sex).

So, until life is more stable and I grow tired of not having yard work, we'll be downstairs from the creepy guy with the little dog that seems to be 95% hair. Or next door to the single chick who has sex until 3 am moaning through the megaphone. Or across the way from pigpen, the guy whose shower has obviously stopped working.

Calgon, give me a stable job!!!

0 comments so far

older shit - newer shit

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!